Books

...now browsing by tag

 
 

Buy One Book Get Another Book Free

Tuesday, November 9th, 2010

Books are great! Books are probably how I am going to earn my living! Books are what I like to talk to you about when we’re done talking about the weather! Some books are smart and some books are dumb! Some books are two for one!

Yep, SkidShop will help you get laid. Show up tonight between 5pm and 7pm and select books will be BUY ONE GET ONE FREE. Do you have any idea how exciting this is? After tonight every single Skidmore student should have a bedside table full of reading material, every Skidmore student will carry around novels and strike up conversations outside of Burgess about how Freedom was better than The Corrections, every single Skidmore student will pile their books high and proud. You are intelligent and I love you. You are intelligent and you love yourself.

Today between 5 and 7pm is also a great time to come into the shop and enter your name in the raffle to win some free stuff from the Steve Jobs Empire. More on this later but for now know that shit is gonna get crazy come December.

Professor Publications Postpone Their Perishing

Wednesday, October 13th, 2010

Oh autumn, the inspiring industriousness of your birds and squirrels, the beauty of your leaves, the crispness of your breeze, the clatter of your printing presses as they churn out the latest opuses of our professors.

Nabobs by Professor Tillman Nechtman of the History dept.
Nechtman’s academic focus on Britain and its empires continues in his writing. Nabobs, a name for employees of the East India Company who would carry pieces of India’s culture back with them on their return to Britain, explores the contentious relationship between imperial powers and the culture of their conquered. Domestic critics of the Nabobs accused them of attempting to reverse the currents of imperialism and dilute British culture, a fear unforeign to anyone studying current immigration policy.
(purchase)

Hard Grass by Mary Zeiss Stange of the Religion and Women’s Studies depts.
The essays that make up Hard Grass offer Mary Zeiss Stange’s story of running the Crazy Woman Bison Ranch with her husband near Ekalaka, Montana. The collection is less a memoir than a intimate portrait of southeastern Montanna, examining the realities of ranch life at a time when the “New West” of subdivision, “ranchettes,” telecommuting, and tourism collides with the “True West.” Zeiss Stange is careful not to play to our “True West” nostalgia, portraying an oft-forgotten fly-over America shaped by the social, environmental and political realities it’s become wrapped up in. (purchase)

Bomber County by Daniel Swift of the English dept.
We’ve talked about Bomber County before. You know we love it but did you know that other people love it too? The New York Times reviewed it twice (one and two), Swift gave an interview on WAMC, and gave a reading.
(purchase)

Twenty Danses Macabres, by poet Jay Rogoff of the English dept.
I don’t know much about Jay Rogoff’s Robert Watson Poetry Award winning letterpressed chapbook of sonnets except for that some are grim and some are humorous. Danses Macabres is a medieval reference to the universality of death as a dance we must all undertake, so maybe it has something to do with that? Much of Rogoff’s poetry focuses on dance—his book The Code of Terpsichore is expected in 2011 from Isu Press. (purchase)

Millhauser Does it Again

Wednesday, December 3rd, 2008

Today’s New York Times featured the “Top 10 Best Books of 2008.” At the top of the list: Dangerous Laughter: Thirteen Stories by none other than Skidmore professor/celebrity Steven “The Illusionist” Millhauser.

In his first collection in five years, a master fabulist in the tradition of Poe and Nabo­kov invents spookily plausible parallel universes in which the deepest human emotions and yearnings are transformed into their monstrous opposites. Millhauser is especially attuned to the purgatory of adolescence. In the title story, teenagers attend sinister “laugh parties”; in another, a mysteriously afflicted girl hides in the darkness of her attic bedroom. Time and again these parables revive the possibility that “under this world there is another, waiting to be born.”

An excerpt from his book is available on the Times’ website. Although this is just one of many appearances in the Times for Dr. Millhauser, be sure to congratulate him on his timeless work.